Four Types of Teeth

Teeth are the hardest substances in your body. Many of you may not put too much thought into your teeth every day, their importance and the function. Teeth play a very important role in helping in chewing food to smiling and speaking. Many of you take them for granted until something goes wrong.

There are four different types of teeth. Each type serves a particular purpose for eating and chewing.

1) Incisors

These are the first adult teeth that grow after primary or baby teeth and make up the most for your smile. There are eight incisors in the mouth- four upper and four lower. These are the front-most teeth which are used for cutting food.

2) Canines

They are also called cuspids or “eye teeth,” as they sit directly below the eye sockets. Canines are the sharp, pointed teeth situated on each side of the incisors. They are used to tear into food and rip it apart. It comes in with permanent teeth around the age of 10 years. They are the longest teeth with a pointed end and one implanted root.

3) Premolars

Premolars are located between the canines and the molars in the back of the mouth. They have two pointed cusps on their biting surface, so they are referred to as bicuspids. These are considered transitional teeth which guide food from the canines to the molars in back for chewing.

4) Molars

Molars are used for grinding food in the back of the mouth. Usually, the adults have twelve molars at each side of the upper and lower jaw consists of three molars.

These are the largest teeth and used for chewing, grinding and clenching.

Teeth are important so don’t take them or your oral health for granted. For proper care, brush and floss your teeth twice a day regularly. Don’t smoke, eat a healthy diet and visit a dentist regularly for dental cleanings and check-ups. A healthy mouth makes a healthy body and a pretty smile.